Crescent Moon and Morning Star

Moon and Evening Star

Taken with my iPhone from the 11th Floor window of my overnight room at the Massachusetts Eye and Ear building, after I was awakened at 5 AM Thursday for ‘vitals’ or something.  As Larry Flint tells me, “Hospitals are not for sleeping.”  Not a great photo, complete with smudges from the window, but the sight of the crescent Moon and Venus in the morning was worth waking up for.

Fortunately, it was only one night in the hospital; I’m now back on the river in Saxonville with one less thyroid gland (yes, we have only one each, though with two lobes, so some people lose only half).  It was extracted by Dr. Gregory Randolph, acknowledged by everyone at Mass Eye and Ear as “The best.”  Dr. Randolph is a developer of  “recurrent laryngeal nerve (RLN) monitoring during thyroid surgery,” which (as his audiologist explained to me before the procedure) enables the surgeon to identify and avoid damaging the nerves to the vocal chords in the larynx, a common risk in thyroid surgery.  But though I can talk, I’m pretty hoarse from the endotracheal (or breathing) tube, so as I mentioned on the show last Saturday, tomorrow’s will be pre-recorded.  I’ll be back on April 5th, for sure.

Looking at the lunar calendar, I see that what I thought was a waxing crescent moon was actually a waning one.  Nevertheless, I thought of it as a New Moon, which should be quite dark, but clearly the one in the great old song written by Governor Jimmy Davis (first recorded by Tex Ritter) was plenty visible:

“There’s a New Moon Over My Shoulder”

Click on the title if the YouTube video doesn’t show up.  I’m never sure why sometimes they do, and sometimes they don’t. /CL

This entry was posted in Administrivia, Radio Talk, Random Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Crescent Moon and Morning Star

  1. countrygordy@aol.com says:

    Glad you are recovering and out of hospital. That’s the worst place to be when you are sick. That tube is one of the reasons Georgia Mae retired. She could no longer trust her yodel.

    though I can talk, I’m pretty hoarse from the endotracheal (or breathing) tube

    [In the case of thyroid surgery, Dr. Randolph told me that there is a 1% chance of damaging the nerves to the vocal chords. He recommends that professional singers, and others who rely on their voices, take two months off, to recover from any changes. /CL]

  2. Jennie L. Scott says:

    All best wishes for a speedy recovery Lynn! Your pre-recorded show was wonderful as always today.

  3. Thanks Gordy and Jennie. I haven’t tried to yodel yet. Then, the world isn’t ready for that. . .

    One advantage of being home is that I get to listen to the show. Today as it turned out is part of BMI-logging week, so I had the job of entering everything (and all the writers) in Spinitron. I can’t do that by myself during the show, because as I’ve said, here, I program on the fly and there isn’t time, but I can see how the listeners would like it. /CL

  4. Echoing the Get Well greetings, glad to hear you are home and on the mend. Great moon and “morning star” photo, I’m never awake early enough to see it. Nice light, “Day is a’breaking…”

  5. Thanks Reuben— Went looking for a video, and found this lovely a capella version of “Bright Morning Stars Are Rising,” with no identification of the singer. Sounds familiar, but who is it? /CL

  6. Pingback: Thyroidectomy Update | Hillbilly at Harvard

Leave a Reply

