“A Good Voice and a Clean Suit”—Slim Whitman Dies

This note from Jeff Boudreau:

RIP Slim Whitman
“Ottis Dewey Whitman, Jr., known professionally as Slim Whitman, was an American country music and western music singer/songwriter and instrumentalist known for his yodeling abilities and his smooth high octave falsetto.” —Wikipedia
Born: January 20, 1924, Tampa, FL
Died: June 19, 2013
http://www.guardian.co.uk/music/2013/jun/19/slim-whitman-dies-89

UPDATE: Here are a couple more obituaries:

• Douglas Martin in The New York Times: Slim Whitman, Yodeling Country Singer With a Regular-Guy Image, Dies at 90 (hat tip: Louis in NYC)

• Terry Spencer at the AP: Family: Country singer Slim Whitman dies at age 90

Back in 1979 I had a part-time gig at WDLW in Waltham (the call letters, reputedly the owner’s girfriend’s initials, now licensed to a station in Ohio), doing a Saturday overnight show.  Regularly at about 5 AM Sunday morning, a lady named Margaret, who was well in her cups, would call and request Slim Whitman singing “China Doll.”  I’ll have to play it this week. /CL

Here’s a video of Slim singing “I Remember You”:

And here’s the clip (see the obits) where “Indian Love Call” explodes the Martians’ heads in “Mars Attacks!”:

From the AP obit:

Whitman told the AP in 1991 that he wanted to be remembered as “a nice guy.”

“I don’t think you’ve ever heard anything bad about me, and I’d like to keep it that way. I’d like my son (Byron) to remember me as a good dad. I’d like the people to remember me as having a good voice and a clean suit.”

This entry was posted in Country News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

